Year 2012 Reviews - Villa Gioiosa

Vai ai contenuti

Menu principale:

Year 2012 Reviews

Reviews

“Perfect for a villa based family holiday”
Date of stay: August 2012

We are grandparents with varying numbers of kids and grandchildren arriving. For part of the time we were 6 adults, 3 children and a baby.
The space was more than flexible for our varying accommodation requirements. The villa is wonderful for children - the downstairs lounge can double as a play-room, and the patio, kid's sand play area and pool are so safe you don't need to worry about them coming to any harm.
The villa location is very quiet, but near enough to town for supermarkets and restaurants - best is certainly the "King Bar" Restaurant & Pizzeria.
For those that want to stay in, the downstairs kitchen, pizza oven and barbaque are brilliant.
Carmelina (property owner) is a real wonder - there is nothing she can't fix - from doctor's visits to broken-down hire cars. To cap it all one of our grandchildren - who had her fourth birthday here, learnt to swim underwater without her arm bands, in the wonderful and safe pool.
Thanks so much - Bren and Rob - Wrinklies
                             - Samantha, Andy, Suzann & Mark - Kids
                             - Niamh, Jacob, Sienna & Kit - Grandchildren


“Great stay in a great villa”
Date of stay: September 2012

We have much enjoyed our week's stay . This spacious well-equipped villa suited our needs admirably and the hot last week in September (30-35°) enabled us to benefit fully from the outdoor facilities: the pool and surroundings were admirable, the pizza oven a great success and the plums, picked from the orchard trees delightful, freshly picked and cooked.

The location of this villa was ideal for us. Having visited the east coast of Sicily last year, we were able to focus this year on the Agrigento area, venturing as far as Piazza Armerina for the impressive Villa del Casale, staying locally fot the Valley of the Temples, the beach at San Leone and the Turks' Staircase at Port Empedocle.

The town proved to be a bustling and convenient shopping centre, with excellent bakers and greengrocers, and the local red wine, on tap at euro 1.50 per litre, amazingly good.

We were able to make the most of our time thanks to the generous advice and information provided by Carmelina and it was reassuring to know that she was always available to help and advise as the week progressed



"Lovely Villa in the countryside” "
Date of stay: September 2012

This lovely villa is located just outside of Favara, great little town with all the shops you need. The owners were very welcoming, even showing us around town where best to do our shopping! Now, that was a first. A basket with some grocery was awaiting us when we arrived at the house in the middle of the night! How kind of them. And we could call them any time if we needed something.

Now for the house, the house is roomy, beautiful and we especially the outside area where we spent nearly all our time. There's lots of toys (indoors), a trampoline, swings and a lovely pool. Kids paradise! It's got a great outdoor kitchen and a gas bbq, so we basically did all our cooking outdoors.

We liked the area, since it is not touristy at all. Especially restaurants were very cheap and of great quality! Would definitely visit again.


“Extremely satisfactory and would have no trouble recommending this property”
Date of stay: August 2012

On arrival we were met by Carmelina and although it was one a.m. she had no problem meeting us. We found this an extremely good gesture. Next morning in the light of day we were quite surprised and very happy with our surroundings. The villa was extremely well presented and spacious, all you could need was at hand including a hamper (very welcome). Carmelina met us in the morning and took us on a trip around Favara and ;pointed out the supermarkets, bakers etc. She could not do enough for us as when 2 of our children were ill she took them to a doctor and when there was a mechanical problem with the hire car she liaised with the hire company and got a local garage to sort the problem. When a problem arose at the villa such as the shower not working properly it was immediately attended to. We cannot say enough how well we were looked after and would recommend it to anyone without worry. There are a couple of beaches in the vicinity which are within 30 minutes or so from the villa where the sea is shallow and very ware and good for children. In summing up the weather was great, the villa was great and if you want some Sicilian cuisine ask Carmelina and she will point you in the right direction. Lastly if we go to Sicily again we will certainly stay at the Villa


“Great Villa for Children”
Date of stay: July 2012


This Villa is a great for those who want to spend some time exploring the south of Sicilly. The villa is based just outside of a town called Favara which is not a tourist town and therefore the number of restaurants is limited. However, there is an easily acessible supermarket and the kitchen at the villa is well equiped. We only went out twice and the traffic was so 'Italian' that we decided to stay at the villa and cooked solely in the outside kitchen with its wood oven, which was really pleasant.

There are some nearby attractions we visted the Valley of the Temples, the Turkish Stairs (very nice) and the Macalube of Aragona (LOL) in the late afternoon when the main heat of the day had subsided.

The owner is very, very helpful


“Comfortable Villa with easy access to whole island”
Date of stay: May 2012


We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Sicily and would recommend it to anyone.

We wanted a single base, giving access to the whole island, so looked for houses near Agrigento and ended up picking This Villa
The villa itself is very comfortable and spacious. It’s a couple of miles out of town on a country road, with easy access by car, set in a large secure plot complete with large covered areas for shade and pool. There is sleeping for up to 10 but this makes use of a single bedded downstairs bedroom and a bed-settee in the main lounge, so check that the configuration meets your needs. The property is pretty new, well maintained and is kept tidy and clean. Carmelina & Salvatore (the owners) live 5 minutes away by car, so are on   hand if you need anything, but they were very careful to make sure they didn’t encroach on our privacy.

The house was ideal for what we wanted. Although the nearest town Favara, and the larger of Agrigento, are not places of great beauty or interest, they allow you to see Sicily without tourism. If you have any interest in ancient sites then don’t miss Valley of the Temples


“Beautiful property, well stocked for kids”
Date of Stay May 2012

For all parents with children, the villa is a real find. Impeccably clean, stocked with everything child/baby related you could need and furnished with a
fabulous pool. It is also on the road to all of western sicily's sights!
Carmelina is an attentive owner, taking special care of us when i and my 2 year old were sick and needed a doctor. You can't pay for such a
level of care!
Some tips: - explore Favara town - the main square is worth it! It's safe to wander around, even at night
                 - have some local ice-cream! Especially pistachio!
                 - the restaurant recommendations are bang on!
                 - bring a sat nav! You will need it!


"Excellent pool area with outdoor kitchen, close to wineyard!”
Date of stay: June 2012


We were a family of 7 people, Myself & Pan, my Mother, Martin & Camilla with their children Alfred (5 years old) and Stella (8 months old).

The villa is very spacious with a nice pool area with an inflatable shark, tennis kit, toys and lots of other inflatables, our kids were amused the entire week!

We used the outside kitchen for every meal! Perfect garden with fruit trees and shadow provided by the relaxed outside area. It felt really exotic to go into the garden with lemon, apricots, peaches, and tasting them!

We came quite late but carmelina and salvatore met us at 23:00 with no problems. They were extremely nice and helpful, we got help with everything from the pizza dough to medical treatment for our son. Without carmelina, our son would never have got proper care!!

They showed us the way to a vineyard where we could buy fresh wine from the barrel and "Le Vigne" a large department store with a large supermarket open all day on Sundays. They also showed us all the "spots" of the town like the pescheria where carmelina helped us to find fresh fish and shrimps at an extremely low price, we felt like Sicilians, which was fantastic!!!

Carmelina & Salvatore made us really feel at home and welcome!!! Thank you


“Nice villa in rural settings”
Date of stay: May 2012


We greatly enjoyed our stay in Villa Gioiosa (2nd to 6th May2012), a spacious almost new place in a rural setting. Nice location to explore the Agrigento surroundings. Extremely helpful landlord who even borrowed us her GPS to get around.
We used the outdoor kitchen with wood fire pizza oven with the ready for use dough from the landlord. Great fun!
A place to come back to!!!! Erik Sprengers and family from Netherlands


“Great, well equipped villa in a lovely location”
Date of stay: April 2012

We've really enjoyed our stay at this villa (april). It is brilliantly equipped, especially for the children. They have been kept greatly entertained by all the toys and by building sandcastles in the huge sandpit. It has felt very safe here as you can see the children wherever they are playing.
The outdoor kitchen is a really nice touch and adds to the extensive space that is avialable indoors.
We've had some great day trips but we particularly liked pretty Taormina.
We would certainly consider coming again but perhaps in the summer so that we can make more use of the fabulous pool! Many thanks


Relaxing, idyllic place in southern Sicily”
Date of stay: April 2012

Our family just returned from a week in Southern Sicily, where we rented Carmelina and Salvatore’s villa outside of Favara. Favara is a small town of ~35,000 residents not far from Agrigento and the amazing ruins in the Valley of the Temples. Early April is gorgeous in Sicily, with the greenest of green rolling hillsides, flowering fruit and nut trees, wild flowers in abundance and dazzling sunlight. We drove to Favara from Catania with a GPS that became confused by the diversions created by road work (see below for more on driving conditions we encountered in April, 2012). Carmelina’s villa is fully furnished and equipped for family life. There are two kitchens, one outside near the gorgeous swimming pool (with a real pizza oven!), and the other in the upstairs living space. We usually ate out on the veranda overlooking the countryside. There was a toy room downstairs for children filled with games and toys. It was apparent that this villa is a perfect place for families with children. Television reception was perfect with many channels available in multiple languages. The beds were comfortable and the bedrooms had plenty of closet space and shelving. There is no central heat, and the house was a bit cold at the beginning of our week. However, it warmed up as the weather warmed. We felt completely safe in the villa (sensitive alarm system and locked gate) but also felt very safe in town. The local restaurants were excellent. Grocery stores were accessible in nearby Favara. Fruit trees on the property were flowering and we helped ourselves to a fresh lemon off the lemon tree. It is easy to imagine the lushness of the villa in summer when the fruit is ripe, the heat eased by jumping into the pool, and the cooling breezes carried through the house by open windows. Carmelina and her husband were amazingly available and gracious about responding to our questions and the rare logistical problem with the villa. This was an exceptional experience for our family and we hope to return one summer for a longer visit.







 
Torna ai contenuti | Torna al menu