Year 2013 Reviews - Villa Gioiosa

Vai ai contenuti

Menu principale:

Year 2013 Reviews

Reviews

"Beautiful country, amazing villa and a lovely family"
Submitted: 8th November 2013 (tripadvisor)

We stayed at the villa for a week, 27th oct' to 3rd nov 2013 and loved it. The villa itself was a gorgeous home from home, fitted and equipped with everything we could possibly want or need and the gated swimming pool was a definate big hit with not only the children but the adults alike.

The owners themselves were really lovely and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They gave us the space to enjoy our holiday but were always close by should we need them.

They also left a pack of things to do and see in Sicily, which we used and found very helpful.

We visited a few of the recommended places, like the Scala dei Turchi, which was stunning, even more so at sunset, with its brilliant white staircase and amazing views.
The mud volcanoes, which were great for kids and adults, fascinating to see, watch and experience, although I would recommend wearing trainers or shoes with a good grip as it can be very muddy and slippery.

Another of our visits was to Mount Etna, herself! Standing tall and proud,she towers over the Sicilian landscape but offers many opportunities for photographs of the breath-taking views, unique souveniers and an education you don't realise you are getting. Although we did not climb to the summit, it was very chilly and so I would recommend wrapping up very warm as the higher you go the lower the temperature will get!

We had a fantastic time in Sicily and would highly recommend this villa to anyone, we look forward to returning soon!


"Best villa ever with lots of facilities!!"
Submitted:  23 August 2013 (owners direct)

We had a lovely two week vacation in sunny Sicily and want to record how well it went and how we enjoyed our time there. We experienced the very genuinely friendly, helpful & approachable spirit of the people there.

The reality is so much better than the photos or description would indicate....it is 'paradise', a place of peace and tranquillity, very relaxing, surrounded by views of the Sicilian countryside.

The house is very well equipped, and entirely as described in the site. The swimming pool and patio area is very safe and secure, surrounded by a large orchard of fruit trees, and is perfect for both children and adults, very enticing in the evening when the lights are on! The patio area has it's own cooking facilities for barbecues, etc..

This villa is a marvellous place to bring children. The sand pit and toys were all there for them to enjoy in safety and security. The problem was persuading them that it was time to go to bed.

Carmelina and her husband, Salvatore were there with such a warm welcome when we arrived and made it abundantly clear that they were there to make sure that we had all that we needed and that we would have a very enjoyable vacation. They so respected our privacy, at time to time even asking if it would be ok to come into the area, but were at the same time at always available if we needed them. They went far beyond anything they would be obliged to do if we requested it.

Carmelina, who speaks perfect English, has compiled a file of useful information about the Villa and places of interest to visit. It is such a fund of information that it has to be read. Some of us had not read it and resulted in our theme song for the vacation viz. "It's in the book".

We have the experience of quite a number of holiday villas both in Italy and France and all agreed that this must be one of the best. We would not hesitate to recommend Villa Gioiosa to anyone who asked our opinion. will be back!! Thanks for everything. Ellen & family from uk


"Lovely Villa with a great pool and playground for kids."

Submitted: 16th September 2013 (tripadvisor)

Lovely, welcoming villa with a great outdoor kitchen and pizza oven, which we used all the time. The pool was fantastic, especially loved by the kids.

Carmelina and Salvatore were amazing hosts, with the guided tour of Favara and lots of help and suggestions throughout the holiday. They were particularly brilliant when we lost our phones and wallet!

We had a wonderful holiday at the Villa and at the beaches of San Leone - thanks!


"Truly amazing."
Submitted: 9th July 2013 (tripadvisor)

Thank you for a truly amazing holiday. The villa is beautiful and Carmelina and Salvatore could not do enough for us. We especially liked the pizza evening and all facilities were great!

Thanks again and we will definately be coming back in the future!

Kella, Rob, Millie and Charlie


"This villa is everything you require for a family holiday & much more :)"
Submitted: 27th June 2013 (tripadvisor)


Lovely villa, absolutely perfect for children. Lovely and clean. It exceeds your expectations by far. We would however recommend hiring a car to get out & about (even to the supermarket). We would also recommend taking a simple Italian phrase book because not many people can speak english. You really are hanging out with the locals, it's fantastic. Not a touristy place in the slightest, which we thought was a brilliant experience. An educational one too because I now have some Italian in my vocabulary & so do the children!!!!

Carmelina and her family are fantastic hosts, nothing was ever to much trouble. We only had to pick up the phone and carmelina was available to help at all times. The outside pizza oven was a big hit with the children, the homemade pizza's tasted amazing & it was great fun for all the family!!

As a family with young children we couldn't recommend this villa enough - we didn't hear the children because they had so much to keep them occupied!!!

We would visit again.Thank you!!
Elly, Chris, Gracie & Ollie (South Wales)
You must try the ice-cream & local cake desserts. :)

""Fantastico""
Submitted: 2nd June 2013 (tripadvisor)

We stayed at the villa for one week. We came to Sicily to visit cousins that i had not met before. I came with my hubby, daughter, step-son, son in law to be, sister and brother in law.

I have to say there is nothing negative about this villa only that it needs a pathway to the winery which is down the road lol. It is spacious, comfortable, and the pool area and outside kitchen were used the most.

Its location was excellent and Carmelina and her husband Salvatore were very helpful in everyway. The villa is decorated to a high standard and every room was well kitted out. The numerous bathrooms were a welcome for 7 people who were sharing and we never felt like we were under anybodies feet with the spacious rooms.

The restaurants were recommended by Carmelina and they were fantastic, Buca di San Francesco was a typicla rustic Sicilian restaurant that served the most gorgeous food although the language barrier was a bit of a problem!!! The King Bar also served lovely food and i can recommend the rissotto which was very tasty.

We also had a couple of nights in the villa where we got to use the pizza oven and barbecue, we also asked Carmelina if she would ring for some pizza's for us, we ordered 4 and they were massive. We ate what was left the next day.

I can honetly say that we had a fantastic week all made by this beautiful villa. The town of Favara is lovely and the people are very friendly. I would certainly recommend the villa and i would definitely go back there!!!!!!!!!!!


"Luxury and Fun!"
Submitted: 27th May 2013 (tripadvisor)

We had some communication problems due to our mobile phone provider but once we had established contact everything went well.

Carmelina could not have been more welcoming and helpful and her tour of the town and local facilities was extremely useful, letting us know, amongst other things, about supermarkets, fruit and veg stalls, good restaurants, fish shops, bakeries, coffee and cake shops and including a visit to the local winery, Morreale, whose merlot can be recommended! You can buy it in bottles but it is cheaper to take along an empty two-litre water bottle and have it filled from the barrel and the price will astound you if you are used to British prices!

She was also full of advice re things to do in the area and we made several trips, to the Turkish Steps, to the fumaroles at Maccalube, to the Valley of Temples and to Sciacca. We ate in quite a bit but can thoroughly recommend one of Carmelina's suggestions, the Boca di San Francesco, where we had an astounding meal and the house red was much appreciated!

With regard to the villa, it was very spacious and comfortable and we slept like logs as it was so quiet. There is a road in front of the villa, at some distance, but it did not disturb us. We would have preferred a slightly bigger pool but understand that to make it "child friendly" it needed a safe area at one end. Children would love this villa as there is the shallow part of the pool for them to play in, a trampoline, a sand pit and loads of toys.

There are two separate TV areas, upstairs and downstairs and loads of different areas to eat, as well as a smaller kitchen indoors and a larger one outdoors near the pool. There is Sky TV so we watched a few films, but we also loved playing table football in the downstairs lounge.

We knew that Carmelina and Salvatore were not far away if we needed them or had a question, which was great, but they never intruded on our privacy.

All in all, thoroughly recommended!

HomeAway.co.uk Property #435568
Read or Write Reviews
 
 
Torna ai contenuti | Torna al menu